Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (5)

Rat Race review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 24 April 2013 05:22 (A review of Rat Race)

Not great at all. The odd joke that's okay, but it's a lame spoof. The film has a big name cast, that's it. So it could easily make people think it's gonna be good, well you'd be disappointed.

The story follows a bunch of people that go hunting for this money. There's about 5 different stories going on about how they are trying to get to the money. This film has the odd joke or to that's okay, but I'm sure the rest, if not the whole thing would only entertain kids with no taste in comedy. Jon Lovit's story was probably the best (it was the funniest). Seth Green's story was really boring, and very predictable. I didn't need a crystal ball to tell what was going to happen to them. Cuba Godding Jr.'s story was just as boring. The typical stuff. It's very unoriginal altogether. Whoopie Goldberg's story is average, just like the vast majority of this film. However, Rowan Atkinson's story had it's moments, but you couldn't help but think A scene of Mr. Bean accidentally got put into Rat Race, so it's too late for Atkinson; he's already a type-cast...

I've seen much worse though. This film wouldn't be in my "worst films list". Although Lovit's High School High is straight in there.............

I think this film is really average. It's one of those film you would only watch if you were bored, I was at the time, so I'm only going on my experience. Otherwise - Avoid.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Overrated Classic

Posted : 4 years, 8 months ago on 17 April 2013 12:01 (A review of Taxi Driver)

I have to agree with the top most voted review on this film, so let me say that again: The TOP voted.

This film is way overrated. Almost everything says this film is powerful, intense, shocking...well, I don't think so or believe so. Instead, I think it's really overrated and definitely in some parts boring. And it also really doesn't help that Deniro/Scorsese fans keep calling this a "masterpiece" Okay, I can understand why some may like it, but I would never call this a masterpiece. And, the fact that there's even an [Link removed - login to see]">account dedicated to Martin Scorsese fans, proves my point perfectly. And yeah, it may be a classic, but just because it is, it doesn't mean it's good, that's just a phrase for "well-know". This is proof that not all the classics are good. I even found this quite pretentious honestly. Also, people say all the time that Travis Bickel is cool and is a great film character, well to me he was just an ordinary guy who was misguided. An easily forgettable movie character. Again, it seems I'm in the minority.

Jodie Foster was great, as always. I think De Niro is okay, but it's certainly not his best performance, he never was a favourite of mine. Scorsese films are really boring, and they're all the same thing, just a different film title. I'm not a fan. This film has got be one of the most overrated and boring films ever. Just like most of his films...

So, yeah, overrated, boring and now thanks to the creepy obsessive Taxi Driver fans, it's now pretentious. Boring story, that has nothing to go on. If you saw something in this film that I didn't, you're either delusional, an idiot or a liar.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Boring and Vulgar

Posted : 4 years, 8 months ago on 24 March 2013 10:29 (A review of Green Street Hooligans)

I really didn't like this film that much. Swearing and fighting appeals to the lowest common denominator of humanity. Maybe it was funny that Eligh Wood got beaten up a bit, but I still didn't like it. This type of stuff makes Great Britain look like a place of dirty crap, and I say this in the nicest way possible. Football hooligans and stuff like that I don't like. I thought the British just watched Match of the Day and drank Guinness, well, my mistake.

I would avoid this totally. But, if you want to hear such appalling use of the English language, then by all means, watch this crap.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Rubbish

Posted : 5 years, 1 month ago on 8 November 2012 08:48 (A review of Kids)

Well, to be honest, this is not really my kind of film anyway but I looked past that and attempted to look into the whole awareness and what message this film was supposed to send out. And it sort of worked. When you kind of look at what this film is about you might not think all the sex etc. comes in alot later, but it really doesn't, it's actually quite sudden and swearing and kids of about 7-16 doing stuff which is just plain wrong and I really found all that stuff disturbing. And, in parts, just damn right boooring!

But, I believe that there are people out there who will enjoy this film. And that is very much up to them. As a final say on this film, it's not something I would like to see again.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

One of the most overrated films of the 70's

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 8 October 2012 05:00 (A review of A Clockwork Orange)

How is this film 'weird'? Obviously the people calling this film that and such, have yet to see a truly weird film, or are just in need of a dictionary. This has to be one of the most overrated and dated films ever made. I just don't get it. Oh, wait, maybe because there truly is nothing to actually 'get'. Is it that hard to figure out?

Firstly, I have not yet read the book, but I know some people who have, and they say that this film is nothing compared to the book, and not as in 'better' than the book, but it's not true to the book. People who think Alex is cool, and can't wait to read about him in the book, do not get to excited, as he's someone completely different from the film. Kubrick got it all wrong, way wrong. He's like a totally different person, in fact, so is the whole damn thing. I think the director was having a bit of a laugh. Has Kubrick no dignity? He should have read the book beforehand and then have made the film, jeez, I think that's the least I could have expected from him.

Plus, this film was really boring. It's like futuristic Britain? rofl, how's that then? It just looks like it's 1970's Britain, Stanley wasn't even trying, and you people all fell for it. Ah, my, what rubbish.

He should have made up for that pretentious mess The Space Odyssey, is this his way of saying sorry? ...Not good enough!


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block